在 Mac 上玩舊 Windows 和 DOS 遊戲的 5 種方法

因此,您想在 Mac 上玩經典的 Windows 和 DOS 遊戲,但不確定從哪裡開始。 幸運的是,如果你渴望像《盜賊》、《帝國時代 2》和《虛幻競技場》這樣的經典作品,但已經改用 Apple 硬件,那麼你有很多選擇。

我們將在下面查看您所有可用的選項,以及如何在它們之間進行選擇。

但首先:自己玩遊戲

在你可以在你的 Mac 上玩舊遊戲之前,你需要先把它們放在那裡。 您很有可能已經不再使用光學媒體,特別是如果您使用的是沒有 CD/DVD 驅動器的現代 MacBook。 但是舊的遊戲 CD 和 DVD 仍然可以幫助您。

蘋果賣了一個外置光學 USB SuperDrive這將允許您使用您的原始 CD 和 DVD 玩遊戲。 不過,為了快速起見,您可能只想使用磁盤映像,其中包含 CD 或 DVD 上的所有數據作為存儲在計算機上的文件。

如果您確實有 SuperDrive,或者您使用的是帶有光驅的 Mac,那麼您可以使用以下方法提取磁盤映像並將其轉換為 ISO 磁盤映像文件:

  1. 將 CD 或 DVD 插入光驅,然後啟動磁盤實用程序.
  2. 前往文件 > 新圖像 > 來自“設備”的圖像並選擇您的光驅。
  3. 命名您的文件並選擇要保存它的位置。 確保在菜單中選擇“DVD/CD master”格式下拉菜單,並確保加密被設定為沒有任何. 點擊節省,禁用,並開始該過程。
  4. 您將留下一個 CDR 文件,該文件將像硬盤驅動器或 DMG 文件一樣安裝在您的 Mac 上。 該文件需要採用 ISO 格式,但要使用下面的大多數方法來播放它。 您可以使用快速終端命令將 CDR 文件轉換為 ISO。 你會發現終端在應用程序 > 實用程序,或僅使用 Spotlight(或 Spotlight 替代方案)搜索它。
  5. 終端打開後,輸入以下命令但替換主頁/用戶名/disk.cdr使用磁盤工具創建的文件的路徑,以及主頁/用戶名/disk.iso使用您要創建的 ISO 文件的目標路徑和名稱:
                              
                                hdiutil convert /home/username/disk.cdr -format UDTO -o /home/username/disk.iso
                              
                            

如果您無法從您的 CD 或 DVD 中獲取 .ISO 文件,因為它太損壞了,或者因為您的 CD 或 DVD 用於其他平台而無法獲取,您也許可以免費下載一些舊的 PC 遊戲其他地方並以這種方式獲取ISO文件。

如果這些網站無法運行,或者如果他們沒有您想要的遊戲,您也可以從 torrent 網站獲取 ISO 文件。 如果您已經擁有原始媒體,則無需為此感到內疚。 這種方法還可以節省您購買 SuperDrive 的需要,因為如果您要自己提取相同的文件,您最終會得到相同的文件。

有了您的 ISO 文件,您現在可以使用以下方法之一來實際玩遊戲。

1.DOS仿真和源端口

這最適合:舊的 MS-DOS 遊戲和老歌。

如果您的遊戲足夠老,您將很容易通過仿真讓它們工作。 在 Mac 上本地運行針對硬件優化的應用程序,運行您想在其中玩的遊戲,這是重溫舊遊戲的最穩定方式之一。

在過去十年左右改變 DOS 遊戲的軟件是 DOSBox。 DOSBox 是一個可以運行大量舊遊戲的模擬器,並且由於它可以移植到任何平台,它使許多以前沒有的遊戲可用於 Linux 和 Mac。

macOS 遊戲玩家的另一個 DOS 仿真選項是 Boxer,它使用圖形用戶界面為您的遊戲安裝、播放和顯示正確的盒子藝術。

如果您想玩《毀滅戰士》或《雷神之鎚》等深受喜愛的經典作品,那麼您可能會很幸運地找到源端口,而不是需要模擬器。 當開發人員將源代碼發佈到為他們的遊戲提供動力的引擎時,任何人都可以獲取該代碼,對其進行修改並將其移植到新平台——因此稱為源代碼移植。 許多源端口可以通過在網絡上搜索遊戲標題並查看仿真通用維基.

無論您使用 DOS 模擬器還是源端口,您很可能需要提供原始文件或遊戲資產的副本才能玩任何遊戲。 儘管許多舊標題現在被歸類為廢棄軟件,但您可以通過我們在上一節中的步驟和建議找到這些文件和資產。

下載: DOS盒子(自由的)

下載: 拳擊手(自由的)

2.虛擬化

這最適合:使用軟件或硬件渲染的 Windows 95、98 和 XP 標題或遊戲。

有什麼比使用原生環境更好的運行經典 Windows 的方法? 虛擬化允許您在 macOS 內部的 Mac 上安裝和運行 Windows。 您實際上是在模擬硬件並在其上運行 Windows。 使用專門設計的軟件,您可以根據您的要求擴展您的“虛擬機”。

然而,虛擬化確實有一些缺點。 在過去的幾年裡,虛擬化 3D 圖形性能有了很大的飛躍,但您仍然可能會遇到諸如故障、性能不佳和某些遊戲拒絕運行等兼容性問題。

同時運行兩個操作系統的處理能力和可用內存也相當消耗,因為您需要為 VM 提供部分可用功率。 出於這個原因,舊版本的 Windows(如 Windows 98)可以比更現代的版本(如 Windows 7 或 10)運行得更好。

MacBook 用戶也可能會在空間分配方面遇到困難,因為您需要為 VM 提供一些硬盤空間才能像真正的計算機一樣運行。

最後,您將需要您嘗試安裝的操作系統的有效副本。 如果您熱衷於走虛擬化路線,您會想要使用其中一種解決方案(或查看我們其他最喜歡的 Mac 虛擬機應用程序)。

VirtualBox

VirtualBox 是 Oracle 提供的一款完全免費的開源虛擬化軟件,可用於 Windows、Linux、macOS 和 Solaris。

它為 Windows NT 4.0 到 Windows 10(包括 XP 和 7)提供了良好的支持,但並未針對 Windows 98 進行優化。您將需要禁用硬件加速(並使用軟件渲染)或查找第三方 VESA 驅動程序以提高圖形性能。

出於這個原因,VirtualBox 可能最適合 Windows XP 遊戲以及與 Windows 2000 時代平台保持良好兼容性的遊戲。 想想神話時代、使命召喚和榮譽勳章:聯合突擊等遊戲。

您也可以嘗試啟用微軟自己的兼容模式來運行 Windows 98 和 95 遊戲,方法是右鍵單擊可執行文件,然後選擇特性.

下載: VirtualBox (自由的)

VMWare 融合

Fusion 是 VMWare 的商業產品,是 3D 性能最好的產品之一。 儘管 VirtualBox 在過去幾年中得到了極大的改進,但在與 Windows 98 的兼容性和要求更高的 Windows XP DirectX 遊戲方面,您可能會更幸運地使用 Fusion。

最重要的是,您可以下載 30 天免費試用版,看看它是否能滿足您的需求。

VMWare 在其網站上做出了一些相當大膽的聲明,聲稱與最新版本的 DirectX 具有良好的兼容性,並提供了一種融合模式,允許您在 Mac 桌面上以窗口模式運行 Windows 應用程序。

它最適合 Windows XP 時代的遊戲,但您可以嘗試 Windows 7,如果您的硬件可以處理它,甚至是 Windows 8 或 10。

下載: VMWare 融合(149 美元,提供免費試用)

3.酒

這最適合:有些遊戲,但不是全部——你必須逐個遊戲地打電話。

Wine,最初是 Windows Emulator 的簡寫,但現在代表“Wine Is Not an Emulator”,它是一個兼容層,允許為 Windows 編寫的軟件在 Linux 和 Mac OS X 等現代 UNIX 系統上運行。它是一個免費的開源軟件項目,因此與軟件的兼容性可能從好到不完整。

由於 Wine 不是模擬器,因此不涉及虛擬化。 這意味著該軟件不會像 VirtualBox 或 VMWare Fusion 那樣對您的硬件造成額外的壓力。 您不必同時運行兩個操作系統,也不必與兩個系統共享處理能力或內存。

不幸的是,由於軟件並未在其本地環境中運行,因此您可能會在此過程中遇到問題,具體取決於您嘗試運行的內容。

穩定性一直是 Wine 的一個問題,無論是故障圖形、不可預測的行為還是頻繁的崩潰。 您可能無法正常工作,或者網絡訪問可能中斷。 你至少可以諮詢WineHQ 應用數據庫在你嘗試之前。

如果您認真使用 Wine 玩遊戲,請安裝最新版本的 XQuartz。 該項目經常更新,最新版本通常會產生最佳效果。 接下來,下載並安裝適用於 macOS 的 Wine。 安裝後,EXE 文件將與 Wine 關聯,您可以像在 Windows 上一樣運行它們。

您可能還想考慮獲得一個額外的程序,如 Winery 或 Wine Bottler,為您嘗試運行的軟件優化 Wine,使用“皮膚”或“包裝器”使事情運行更順暢。 如果 vanilla Wine 不適合您選擇的遊戲,您可能想嘗試這些工具。

下載: 葡萄酒(自由的)

下載: X石英(自由的)

下載: 酒廠(自由的)

下載: 葡萄酒裝瓶機(自由的)

4. 在您​​的 Mac 上本機運行 Windows

這最適合:新遊戲、Windows 7 之後的遊戲以及需要大量電力才能運行的高要求遊戲。

你根本無法在它們設計的操作系統中以原生方式運行遊戲,它可以完全訪問你的處理器、顯卡和你可以提供的所有 RAM。

Boot Camp 是 Apple 在 Mac 上運行 Windows 的解決方案,它是您在 Apple 硬件上暢玩最新 PC 版本的方式。 Apple 甚至提供了讓您正常工作所需的所有驅動程序——無線配件、媒體鍵、觸摸板等等。

不幸的是,Boot Camp 不適用於在 Apple 矽芯片上運行的 Mac。

這裡的主要缺點是您需要將機器從 macOS 重新啟動到 Windows 才能玩遊戲,並且會犧牲 Windows 正常運行所需的硬盤空間(以及為遊戲提供空間)。

如果您打算在筆記本電腦上使用 Windows,您可能會發現電池壽命大約是 macOS 的一半。 否則,Boot Camp 提供了一種很好的方式,可以在最新最好的遊戲中充分利用 Apple 硬件的潛力。

您需要一份有效的 Windows 副本,當然,還需要您嘗試運行的遊戲。 從運行開始新兵訓練營助理德德應用程序 > 實用程序並閱讀我們的使用 Boot Camp 助理創建可啟動 USB 磁盤的指南,了解使用該程序在 Mac 上獲取 Windows 的一種方法。

5. Steam、GOG和Mac版本的遊戲

隨著 macOS 越來越受歡迎,Mac 版本的遊戲變得越來越普遍。 如果您瀏覽視頻遊戲分發服務 Steam,這一點很明顯。 如果您獲得適用於 Mac 的 Steam,您可以購買和下載大量新的和經典的遊戲,並在您的 Mac 上直接暢玩,幾乎沒有任何問題。

GOG 或 Good Old Games 是另一家專門從事經典遊戲的在線視頻遊戲零售商。 不幸的是,GOG 不從事移植舊 Windows 遊戲的業務,因此大多數可用的 Mac 遊戲要么已經有 Mac 移植,要么是 DOS 遊戲,附帶 DOSBox 的副本。

最後,始終值得通過在 Mac App Store 中搜索遊戲來檢查是否有任何舊的 Windows 遊戲接收到 Mac 的端口。 Mac App Store 通常會有舊版 Windows 遊戲的副本,例如 Aspyr 的遊戲,其目錄包含 70 多個 Mac 端口。

你會選擇哪一個?

您對如何在 Mac 上玩舊的 Windows 和 DOS 遊戲做出的選擇肯定取決於相關遊戲、Mac 及其硬件的使用年限以及遊戲最初設計的操作系統。

以原生方式運行應用程序始終是最好的——無論是源端口、Mac 版本、通過 DOSBox 進行的模擬,還是通過 Boot Camp 或虛擬機使用 Windows 運行您的遊戲。

虛擬化對於那些要求不高的舊遊戲非常有用,但如果你有一台配備 i7 或更好處理器以及更多 RAM 的最新 Mac,它可能會為你提供很好的服務。 如果您可以讓一切正常運行(聲音、3D 加速、網絡訪問(如果需要)),您將獲得穩定的體驗,並且無需重新啟動系統。

如果有問題的遊戲得到很好的支持,或者您在虛擬機路線上遇到問題,請選擇 Wine。 但是,對於沒有 Mac 版本的現代遊戲,您需要使用 Boot Camp 將 Windows 與 macOS 一起安裝,以充分利用您設備的硬件。

我們希望您喜歡我們推薦和討論的項目! MUO有附屬
和讚助的合作夥伴關係,因此我們會從您的某些購買中獲得一部分收入。 埃斯特
不會影響您支付的價格,並幫助我們提供最佳產品推薦。

相關文章

5 Ways to Play Old Windows and DOS Games on Your Mac

So you want to play classic Windows and DOS games on your Mac, but you’re unsure where to begin. Fortunately, there are quite a few options open to you if you’re craving classics like Thief, Age of Empires 2, and Unreal Tournament but have made the switch to Apple hardware.

We’ll look at all of your available options below, and how to choose between them.

But First: Get The Games Themselves

Before you can play old games on your Mac, you need to get them on there first. There’s a good chance you’ve moved on from optical media, particularly if you’re using a modern MacBook without a CD/DVD drive. But old CDs and DVDs of games can still help you out here.

Apple sells an external optical USB SuperDrive that will allow you to use your original CDs and DVDs to play games. For quickness, you might want to just use disk images though, which contain all the data found on a CD or DVD as a file stored on your computer.

If you do have a SuperDrive, or you’re using a Mac that is blessed (cursed?) with an optical drive, here’s how to extract a disk image and convert it to an ISO disk image file:

  1. Insert your CD or DVD into your optical drive, and launch Disk Utility .
  2. Head to File > New Image > Image From “Device” and choose your optical drive.
  3. Name your file and select where you want to save it. Make sure you select “DVD/CD master” in the Format dropdown, and ensure Encryption is set to none . Click Save , disabled , and begin the process.
  4. You’ll be left with a CDR file that will mount on your Mac like a hard drive or DMG file. The file needs to be in ISO format though to use most of the methods to play it below. You can convert a CDR file to ISO using a quick Terminal command. You’ll find Terminal in Applications > Utilities , or just search for it using Spotlight (or a Spotlight alternative).
  5. Once Terminal is open, input the following command but replace home/username/disk.cdr with the path to the file you created with Disk Utility, and home/username/disk.iso with the destination path and name for the ISO file you want to create:
                              
                                hdiutil convert /home/username/disk.cdr -format UDTO -o /home/username/disk.iso
                              
                            

If you can’t get the .ISO file off of your CD or DVD because it’s too broken, or if you can’t because your CD or DVD was meant for another platform, you might be able to download some old PC games for free elsewhere and get the ISO files that way.

If these sites don’t work out, or if they don’t have the games you want, you can also get ISO files from torrent sites. No need to feel guilty about this if you already own the original media. This method can also save you the need to purchase a SuperDrive, as you’d only end up with the same file if you were to extract it yourself.

With your ISO file in hand, you can now use one of the methods below to actually play your game.

1. DOS Emulation and Source Ports

This is best for: Old MS-DOS games and golden oldies.

If your games are old enough, you’ll have an easy time getting them to work by way of emulation. Running an app natively on your Mac that’s optimized for your hardware running the game you want to play within it is one of the most stable ways of reliving old games.

The one piece of software that has transformed DOS gaming over the last decade or so is DOSBox. DOSBox is an emulator that can run tons of old games, and since it can be ported to any platform, it makes lots of games available to Linux and Mac that weren’t before.

Another DOS emulation option for macOS gamers is Boxer, which uses a graphical user interface to mount, play, and display correct box art for your games.

If you want to play a much-loved classic like Doom or Quake, then instead of needing an emulator, you might be lucky enough to find a source port. When developers release the source code to the engines that power their games, anyone can take that code, modify it, and port it to new platforms—hence the term source port. Many source ports can be found by searching the web for game titles, and checking out the Emulation General Wiki .

Whether you use a DOS emulator or a source port, it’s very likely you’ll need to provide a copy of the original files or game assets to play anything. Though many old titles are now classed as abandonware, you can find these files and assets via our steps and suggestions in the previous section.

Download: DOSBox (Free)

Download: Boxer (Free)

2. Virtualization

This is best for: Windows 95, 98 and XP titles or games that use software or hardware rendering.

What better way to run classic Windows than using a native environment? Virtualization allows you to install and run Windows on your Mac, inide macOS. You’re essentially emulating the hardware and running Windows on top of it. Using specially designed software you can scale your “virtual machines” based on your requirements.

Virtualization does come with a few drawbacks, however. There have been big leaps forward in terms of virtualized 3D graphics performance over the past few years, but you may still encounter compatibility problems like glitches, poor performance and some games refusing to run.

It’s also quite draining in terms of processing power and available memory to run two operating systems at once, as you’ll need to provide the VM with a portion of your available power. For this reason, older versions of Windows (like Windows 98) can run better than more modern versions like Windows 7 or 10.

MacBook users may also struggle with space allotment, as you’ll need to give your VM some hard drive space to function like a real computer.

Lastly, you will need a valid copy of the operating system you’re trying to install. If you’re keen on going down the virtualization route, you’ll want to use one of these solutions (or to check out our other favorite virtual machine apps for Mac).

VirtualBox

VirtualBox is a completely free and open source virtualization software from Oracle, available for Windows, Linux, macOS and Solaris.

It provides good support for Windows NT 4.0 through to Windows 10 (including XP and 7) but isn’t optimized for Windows 98. You’re going to need to disable hardware acceleration (and use software rendering) or find a third party VESA driver for improved graphical performance.

For that reason VirtualBox is probably best for Windows XP games and those that maintain good compatibility with the Windows 2000-era platform. Think games like Age of Mythology, Call of Duty ,and Medal of Honour: Allied Assault.

You can also try enabling Microsoft’s own compatibility modes to run Windows 98 and 95 games by right-clicking the executable file, and choosing Properties .

Download: VirtualBox (Free)

VMWare Fusion

Fusion is a commercial product from VMWare, and one of the best in terms of 3D performance. Though VirtualBox has improved massively over the last few years, you’ll probably have more luck using Fusion when it comes to compatibility with Windows 98 and more demanding Windows XP DirectX titles.

Best of all you can download a 30-day free trial to see if it does what you need it to.

VMWare make some pretty bold claims on its website, claiming good compatibility with recent versions of DirectX and offering a fusion mode which allows you to run Windows apps in a windowed mode on your Mac desktop.

It’s best for games from the Windows XP-era, but you can try Windows 7, and if your hardware can handle it even Windows 8 or 10.

Download: VMWare Fusion ($149, free trial available)

3. Wine

This is best for: Some games, but not all—you’ll have to make a call on a game-by-game basis.

Wine, which was initially shorthand for Windows Emulator but now stands for “Wine Is Not an Emulator” is a compatibility layer that allows software written for Windows to run on modern UNIX systems like Linux and Mac OS X. It’s a free, open-source project and as such compatibility with software can vary from good to patchy.

Since Wine isn’t an emulator, there is no virtualization involved. This means the software places no additional strain on your hardware, like VirtualBox or VMWare Fusion will. You don’t have to run two operating systems at once, nor do you have to share processing power or memory with two systems.

Unfortunately, as software isn’t running in its native environment, you may encounter issues along the way depending on what you’re trying to run.

Stability has always been an issue with Wine, whether it’s glitchy graphics, unpredictable behavior, or frequent crashing. You might not be able to get sound working, or network access may be broken. You can at least consult the WineHQ app database before you try.

If you’re serious about using Wine to play games, install the latest version of XQuartz. The project is updated frequently and the latest version will usually yield the best results. Next, download and install Wine for macOS. Once installed, EXE files will be associated with Wine and you can run them as you would on Windows.

You may also want to consider getting an additional program like Winery or Wine Bottler to optimize Wine for the software you’re trying to run using “skins” or “wrappers” to make things run smoother. If vanilla Wine isn’t cutting it for your chosen games, you might want to try these tools.

Download: Wine (Free)

Download: XQuartz (Free)

Download: Winery (Free)

Download: Wine Bottler (Free)

4. Run Windows Natively on Your Mac

This is best for: New titles, post-Windows 7 games, and demanding games that require plenty of power to run.

You simply can’t beat running games natively in the operating system they were designed for, which has full access to your processor, graphics card, and all the RAM you can provide.

Boot Camp is Apple’s answer to running Windows on your Mac, and it’s how you’ll get away with playing the latest PC releases on your Apple hardware. Apple even provides all of the drivers you need to get things working—wireless accessories, media keys, touchpads, the lot.

Unfortunately, Boot Camp isn’t available for the Macs running on Apple silicon chips.

The main drawback here is that you’ll need to reboot your machine from macOS into Windows to play games, as well as sacrificing the hard drive space that Windows requires to function properly (along with providing room for games).

If you intend to use Windows on a laptop, you might find that battery life is about half what it is with macOS. Otherwise, Boot Camp provides a great way to use the full potential of your Apple hardware on the latest and greatest titles.

You’ll need a valid copy of Windows and, of course, the game you’re trying to run. Get started by running Boot Camp Assistant from Applications > Utilities and read our guide to creating a bootable USB disk using Boot Camp Assistant for one way of using the program to get Windows on your Mac.

5. Steam, GOG, and Mac Versions of Games

As macOS has grown in popularity, Mac versions of games are becoming much more common. This is apparent if you browse through the video game distribution service, Steam. If you get Steam for your Mac, you can buy and download tons of new and classic games and play them right on your Mac with almost no issues.

GOG, or Good Old Games, is another online video game retailer that particularly specializes in classics. Unfortunately, GOG isn’t in the business of porting old Windows titles so most Mac games available either have Mac ports already available or they’re DOS games that ship with a copy of DOSBox ready to go.

Lastly it’s always worth checking out whether any old Windows games received ports to the Mac by searching for games in the Mac App Store. The Mac App Store will often have copies of old Windows games, such as ones by Aspyr, who have a catalogue of over 70 Mac ports.

Which Will You Choose?

The choice you make of how to play old Windows and DOS games on your Mac will surely depend on the game in question, the age of your Mac and its hardware, and the operating system the game was initially designed for.

Running an app natively is always best—whether that’s a source port, Mac version, emulation via DOSBox, or running your title using Windows via Boot Camp or a virtual machine.

Virtualization is great for those older games that aren’t too demanding, but it might serve you well if you’ve got a recent Mac with an i7 or better processor and more RAM than you know what to do with. Provided you can get everything working—sound, 3D acceleration, network access if required—you’ll have a stable experience and you won’t have to reboot your system.

Choose Wine if the game in question is well-supported, or you’re having trouble going down the virtual machine route. For modern games without a Mac version though, you’ll want to use Boot Camp to install Windows alongside macOS to take full advantage of your device’s hardware.

We hope you like the items we recommend and discuss! MUO has affiliate
and sponsored partnerships, so we receive a share of the revenue from some of your purchases. This
won’t affect the price you pay and helps us offer the best product recommendations.

Related Posts