Google Drive is the go-to place for many who want to save and share content. With this CloudService lets you save and create anything with ease, whether it’s a large video file, a photo album, or an important document. And that’s not all. You can also share a link to these saved items with your rep so they can view or download the required file.
With all of the different sharing options, it’s sure to get a bit confusing when it comes to file and folder visibility. Can others see what’s in your Google Drive? If so, can you have edit access to it?
Well, that’s what we’re going to explore in this post as we explore everything to do with sharing and visibility on Google Drive.
Let’s get started
How does Google Drive work
Before we get started, let’s take a look at how Google Drive works. Well, Google Drive is yours Cloud-based storage solution next door. As mentioned earlier, you can save anything from regular JPG images or audio files to documents, spreadsheets and slideshows.
As long as you are signed in with the appropriate Google Account, you can access these files from virtually anywhere. In addition, means Cloud-Memory that you can save space on your physical device.
Visibility options in Google Drive
As mentioned earlier, you can use Google Drive to share your files. But the good thing is, Drive gives you the freedom to choose how you want to share the files.
There are currently three options: Private, Shared, and Everyone with the link. If you haven’t shared your files and folders with anyone, nobody will be able to see that particular file or folder. You are the only person who can see this. This is the ideal setting if you have a lot of personal documents on Google Drive.
Instead, you can use the “Share with people …” option to share your file with a specific number of users. Depending on the permission you’ve assigned them, they can view or edit the document.
But in no way can they see the other content in your Google Drive.
The same goes for the third option. When you share a link, only the users with the link will get the file / folder. Again, the usual rules apply – you need to be careful what information you share in the document. At the same time, you should be a little careful about what role you assign to them.
Finally, Google Apps users have the option to only share their files with people within their organization. And if you choose that option, people within your domain can see and access the file.
So the bottom line is that nobody will have access to your files and folders in your Google Drive storage unless you’ve given them explicit access. But how do you see the shared file folders at the end of the day?
Who can access your files
Unfortunately, Google doesn’t offer an easy way to see who has access to all of your files at once. You have to check the files one by one. The idea here is to check the latest files.
To do this, open one of the files and click the Share option in the top right corner. If the file is private, only your email ID will appear in the list. If not, you’ll see a list of users the file is currently shared with. At the same time, you can also see their privileges.
All you have to do is click the Remove option to remove the person from the list. Or you can also play with the privileges of the user. Again, it’s worth noting that if you give one person Editor permissions, they can add others and share the file or document.
Alternatively, you can select a file from My Drive and click the little I icon in the top right corner. This is a faster method and gives you a quick overview of the current approval status. You can also see when and by whom the last change was made.
The walls have eyes and ears
Can someone else see what’s in your Google Drive? An unequivocal answer would be no. Your selected employees can only view the files and documents that are shared with them.
Here, too, you have to consider the release status of the folders. When a folder is shared with others, the files below can inherit the same access.