If you close Microsoft Teams, it keeps running in the background, consuming resources and sending you notifications. But if you change a single setting and close the application, it actually stops. Here’s how to quit Microsoft Teams every time you close the app on Windows and Mac.
If you close In general, you expect an app to exit and not live in the background sucking up valuable CPU cycles, memory, and bandwidth. Sure, some apps like OneDrive, Dropbox, or your antivirus are generally “always on”, but keeping them running is the purpose of apps that need to monitor things.
But by default if you close Microsoft Teams will keep it running in the background so it can send you notifications. to close it all the way down, you have to close in the system tray or via the Task Manager (on Windows) or the Activity Monitor (on a Mac).
However, you can change a simple setting that will force Teams to shut down completely when you close the app normal.
In the Microsoft Teams app, click on your profile picture and select “Settings”.
On the “General” tab, scroll down to the “Application” section and uncheck “On”. close”Run application” option.
There is no need to save or restart the app. Once you uncheck this box, the Microsoft Teams app becomes close completely if you say so.