Here’s how to forget about Wi-Fi networks a Mac was previously connected to

Macs automatically remember all the Wi-Fi networks you’ve ever been connected to along with their passphrases. If you’re having trouble connecting to WiFi, you can remove the list of networks to resolve the problem.

If a network that you were previously connected to has stopped working, you can delete it and reconnect to begin troubleshooting. Whether you want to remove a shaky network or every Wi-Fi network that macOS has saved over the years, you can do so from the same location on your Mac’s network settings screen.

First, open the system settings. To do this, click on the “Apple” symbol in the top left of the menu bar and select “System Preferences”.

From the System Preferences menu, click Network.

System settings Macos network

Make sure Wi-Fi is selected on the left side of the window and click the Advanced button at the bottom of the window for more options.

Macos network menu

Click the network you want to delete to highlight it. To delete multiple networks, press Command + click each network. Click the “-” button to delete the networks.

Macos network menu


Click Remove in the pop-up window to remove the networks. If you’ve selected more than one network to remove, you can turn on “Apply to All” to avoid seeing this pop-up multiple times.

Remove the Macos WiFi network

If you want to avoid saving Wi-Fi networks in the future, you can uncheck the box next to “Save networks this computer has joined”. It’s not really necessary, but if digital clutter makes you crazy, it’s always an option.

Macos network menu

Click the OK button in the lower right when you’re done.

macos network menu

Finally, click the “Apply” button to apply the changes.

Macos network menu

You can now close the System Preferences window. The next time you connect to a deleted network, you’ll have to manually select it from your Mac’s Wi-Fi menu – and you’ll also have to re-enter the network’s passphrase.

Related Posts