How to Disable and Remove Netflix Autoplay and Trailers

Netflix menus are extremely eye-catching, dynamic and very intelligent, as they fill the contents according to your preferences and viewing history. These functions are tremendously useful for users, especially for those undecided who don’t know what to see, however there are some other functions that annoy. Like the trailers that reproduce themselves. Or the chapters that start automatically. These two functions are a nuisance, and we are going to show you how to deactivate them.

Too much distraction on Netflix

They are very beautiful, it must be said, but Netflix menus can be too distracting with so much trailer and so much recommended content. The interface has evolved in recent years until reaching a carousel distribution in which the original content with large covers, the content most viewed by the community and the category section stand out.

The problem for some is that every time you move through a movie or series, the interface automatically plays the trailer so you can quickly see what the plot of what you are about to see is about. But this has several problems.

On the one hand, there are those who hate watching trailers, and they are partly right. There are some trailers that directly explode the film, so it is normal that many prefer not to see anything to fully enjoy the film or series, free of spoilers and prepared to receive surprises.

On the other hand, there is the question of distraction. Having the trailer appear in every piece of content you select from the menu is especially annoying. Have you had that typical moment where you stop browsing the menu, look at your phone, and the trailer plays over and over again in the background? We understand you perfectly.

And let’s not talk about data consumption. If you use a mobile application on your phone or tablet, movie trailers are probably responsible for consuming a large part of your data, so it is quite interesting to be able to deactivate this function to take care of the health of your data rate a little more.

The chapters don’t stop playing

Another matter is that of going through the chapter automatically. There are days when you want to go from one chapter to another without stopping, but others where it is better to stop with the film session and rest. Those who want to go step by step are sure to be bothered by the automatic playback function of the next chapter , so nothing better than deactivating it so that you can finish watching the chapter calmly and do not have to run for the remote to stop playback.

How to turn off the playback of trailers and automatic trailers

To get Netflix to stop automatically playing the previews of its contents, you will only have to enter the settings of the account you are using to deactivate the automatic playback function. The only handicap that you should take into account is that this configuration is not available in the Netflix Smart TV application, so you will have to do it by visiting the official website from your computer or from your mobile phone.

The steps to follow are those:

  • Enter Netflix, and on the profile selection screen, click on Manage profiles.
  • This will activate the edit buttons for each profile you have, and it will be there when you have to click on the avatar of the profile you want to edit.
  • The next menu will show the default language options, the profile name and the age rating settings, and also, we will see a couple of options in the Autoplay Controls.

  • It will be in this section where you see the option “Automatically play the progress while browsing on all devices.”
  • Deactivate this option and press the save button.

Now your profile will be configured so that it does not play the trailers and the trailer of each content that you select in the menus, so the autoplay videos will no longer bother you.

How to turn off autoplay for the next episode

The other option that could be interesting is to deactivate the automatic playback of the following chapters. If you want to finish an episode and decide on your own whether to continue watching more or not, you will have to deactivate the function that is activated by default. The steps to follow are those:

  • Enter Netflix, and on the profile selection screen, click on Manage profiles.
  • This will activate the edit buttons for each profile you have, and it will be there when you have to click on the avatar of the profile you want to edit.
  • The next menu will show the default language options, the profile name and the age rating settings, and also, we will see a couple of options in the Autoplay Controls.

  • It will be in this section where you see the option “Automatically play the next episode of the series on all devices.”
  • Deactivate this option and press the save button.

Now you can rest without fear that the next chapter will start almost without warning.

Does it affect all users?

If you have more than one profile in your Netflix account, you should bear in mind that the selected settings will only affect the profile in which it is modified, so that other users can continue to have automatic playback activated unless they do. Disable it yourself in your profile settings.

Can I see the progress manually?

Even if you have the automatic play function of the trailer disabled, you will still be able to see it if you wish. To achieve this, you will only have to enter the content you want to see and click on the “See trailer” option. You should bear in mind that not all series have presentation trailers, nor do all films have trailers, so the commented option will not always be available. What you will not be able to enjoy again is the automatic playback of the chapter. Once it is disabled, you will have to continue to manually select playback. But that’s what you wanted, right?

Related Posts