How to Factory Reset Your Android Phone: 3 Easy Methods

Resetting an Android phone is not a difficult task, but it does require a strategic approach. Every now and then you need to do this for a variety of reasons. The next time you are in this place, you should know how to reset your Android phone.

Below we are going to walk you through everything you need to know about how to factory reset an Android phone.

Why you want to factory reset your Android phone

Factory data reset will erase all of your data and accounts, returning your phone to its original state.

You can choose to reset your Android phone for several reasons. One is to give yourself a fresh start. After months or years of continuous use, an update can improve performance if your phone is stuck. Resetting can also be your last hope in fixing persistent issues with your phone like freezing.

Another reason to reset is when you want to give away or sell your phone. In this case, you don’t want the other person to see your personal information or access your Google Account. Finally, you may want to factory reset your phone if you can’t unlock it.

What to do before factory reset your phone

Before formatting your phone, there are a few steps you should take first for best results.

Start by backing up your Android device to ensure that all of your devices are safe for retrieval later. Back up everything important like documents, media, contacts, text messages and even chats for apps like WhatsApp if your messages are not in the Cloud to save.

This is an important step as you will not be able to recover deleted data on Android after a factory reset. Remember, this process will erase everything on your phone without any possibility of recovery.

Next, make sure your device has enough power. Google recommends charging your phone and keeping it connected during the process to avoid mishaps.

Here’s how to do a factory reset Android via Settings

If you can access your phone as normal, the easiest way to reset it is to use the Settings app. That’s how it’s done:

  1. Open the Settings app on your phone.
  2. Go to System> Reset options . Note that the formulation may vary depending on the device. If you can’t find the option, look for it reset to default to find it.
  3. On the factory reset page, you will see a few reset options such as: Reset app settings . Choose here Delete all data (factory reset) .
  4. You will see a list of all the content that will be affected by the full reset.
  5. Tap the Erase all data Button.
  6. Enter Your PIN or password for confirmation. This only appears if you’ve set up an authentication method to unlock your device.
  7. Choose Keep going .
  8. Tap Erase all data to start the process.

Here’s how to do a factory reset Android via recovery mode

You can also use recovery mode to reset Android. This is useful if your device cannot start up due to a software problem. Before proceeding with this method, however, there are two points to keep in mind.

If you are performing a factory reset on your Android phone using recovery mode, you still need to sign in to the linked Google account after the reset. That is consistent with Google’s factory reset protection (FRP), a security protocol available for Android from Android 5 Lollipop.

Since FRP is available on most devices, it is important to know your Google Account credentials before doing a reset this way.

The procedure for resetting your specific Android phone using recovery mode may vary. If the steps below don’t work, check the manufacturer’s website for your device.

With this in mind, you can use Recovery Mode to factory reset Android:

  1. Turn off your device.
  2. Press and hold the volume up and energy Buttons at the same time. This will skip the usual startup process and put your phone straight into recovery mode.
  3. Next you will see a screen with a No comment Warning. To get to the Android recovery settings page, press and hold volume up and energy Buttons at the same time.
  4. Use the Volume down Button to navigate through the Android recovery menu until Delete data / factory reset is marked.
  5. Press the energy Select button Delete data / factory reset .
  6. Choose Factory reset and press the energy press again to confirm.
  7. Once your phone finishes deleting, you’ll see a data wipe complete Message at the bottom of the recovery screen.
  8. Choose Reboot system now , then press the energy Confirmation button.
  9. Your phone will boot normally and greet you with the usual setup screen.

How to reset Android via Find My Device

If your Android phone is stolen, you can still remotely wipe it using Google’s Find My Device service. You can also use Find My Device to remotely lock your lost or stolen device. However, there are a few caveats to keep in mind when using this method to reset your phone:

  • Your Android phone must be turned on, linked to a Google account, and visible on Google Play.
  • Your device must be connected to the internet.

How to factory reset your Android phone remotely:

  1. Go to android.com/find and sign in to your Google account. Make sure the Google account associated with your phone is the one you use when you have multiple accounts.
  2. At the top, select the phone you want to factory reset if you have more than one device connected.
  3. Tap Delete device .
  4. You will see several warnings about resetting your device.
  5. Tap Delete device keep going.
  6. Confirm your Google Account password when prompted.
  7. The Google service will then contact your device. If it is online, the phone will immediately start clearing the data. If your device cannot be found or is not online, it will be deleted the next time you connect to the Internet.

Just do a factory reset on your Android phone

Aside from these most common methods, there are other ways to reset your Android phone. Advanced users can try ADB, and some third-party PC software can help if for some reason you need a different option.

But using the methods above, you shouldn’t have to look any further the next time you need to give your Android phone a fresh start. Remember: you need to back up your personal data first as you will not be able to easily restore it later.

Related Posts