如何在 Windows 10 和 11 上修復錯誤代碼 0x80004005

Windows 喜歡拋出具有一百萬種可能原因的神秘錯誤代碼,以及至少同樣多的解決方案。 錯誤代碼 0x80004005 也不例外,儘管它確實有一些常見原因。 以下是您可以嘗試在 Windows 10 或 Windows 11 上修復的一些問題。

目錄

是什麼導致錯誤代碼 0x80004005?
避免存檔文件錯誤
Windows 更新疑難解答
修復網絡相關原因
檢查服務器消息塊 (SMB) 設置
網絡發現和共享設置
基本服務
網絡BIOS
禁用 IPv6
防病毒或防火牆阻止訪問
修復本地文件錯誤
權限或所有權問題
殺毒軟件
硬盤驅動器、SSD 或 Windows 的問題
更多故障排除步驟

是什麼導致錯誤代碼 0x80004005?

一般來說,當 Windows 無法訪問文件或文件夾時,會出現錯誤代碼 0x80004005。 它通常顯示為“錯誤 0x80004005:未指定的錯誤”。

以下是潛在原因的非詳盡列表:

  • 您的 Windows 用戶帳戶沒有文件或文件夾的所有權或訪問它的正確權限。
  • 您正在嘗試使用不支持這些文件的程序提取或打開加密的存檔文件(如 ZIP 文件)。
  • 您的防病毒軟件阻止了對文件的訪問
  • 網絡配置設置錯誤,或服務未運行,您無法連接到網絡上的另一台計算機或網絡附加存儲設備 (NAS)
  • Windows 更新因文件損壞而損壞

儘管比大多數 Windows 錯誤消息更具體,但錯誤代碼 0x80004005 仍然有大量潛在原因和大量潛在修復。

避免存檔文件錯誤

存檔文件允許您做各種整潔的事情,儘管並非所有存檔文件都支持相同的功能。 您可以壓縮文件、捆綁多個文件、加密文件或將大文件拆分為多個存檔文件。

文件資源管理器可以自行打開、創建和提取 ZIP 文件,僅此而已。 它無法處理大多數其他存檔文件格式,例如 RAR、7Z 或 Tarball。 此外,大多數存檔文件都支持加密等功能,該功能將文件訪問鎖定在密碼後面。 文件資源管理器不支持存檔文件格式提供的任何高級功能。 如果您嘗試使用文件資源管理器提取加密的 ZIP 文件,您將收到“錯誤 0x80004005:未指定錯誤”。

解決方案很簡單:使用支持加密文件的不同程序。

適用於 Windows 的最佳文件歸檔程序

有大量程序可用於管理存檔文件。 其中一些——比如7-Zip豌豆郵編— 完全免費。 兩者都是很好的選擇,而且你都不會出錯。

WinZipWinRAR是另外兩個出色的選擇,但在技術上都不是免費的。 WinZip 提供 30 天免費試用,之後如果您想繼續使用它,則需要購買它。 WinRAR 也提供試用期,但它會在試用期結束後繼續讓您無限期地使用它,儘管有些嘮叨。

Windows 更新疑難解答

當您嘗試運行 Windows 更新時,也會出現錯誤 0x80004005。 通常,它會在 Windows 更新因斷電或互聯網中斷等原因而中斷後發生。

首先要嘗試的是 Windows Update 的內置疑難解答。 疑難解答程序可能能夠自動解決導致錯誤的任何原因。

如果失敗,您可以嘗試手動刪除所有更新文件並重新啟動更新服務 - 如果由於下載損壞而發生錯誤,那應該可以解決問題。

修復網絡相關原因

當人們嘗試連接到網絡附加存儲 (NAS) 時,錯誤代碼 0x80004005 最常出現,但在其他情況下確實會發生。 該錯誤不夠具體,無法最終說明問題所在,但有一些可能的罪魁禍首。 如果您正在運行兩台試圖通過 LAN 連接的 Windows PC,則應檢查兩台計算機上的所有這些設置。

什麼是局域網 (LAN)?

檢查服務器消息塊 (SMB) 設置

SMB 是一種協議,可讓同一網絡上的計算機像客戶端和服務器一樣進行通信和運行。 它最常用於啟用計算機與打印機或計算機與 NAS 之間的通信,但它也可用於其他用途。

目前使用的 SMB 有幾個版本。 SMB 版本一或 SMBv1 是最古老的標準,出於安全原因已不再使用。 SMBv2 和 SMBv3 仍然通用。

如果錯誤與 SMB 問題有關,則有幾種可能性:

  1. SMB 服務未運行
  2. AllowInsecureGuestAuth 已禁用,並且您正在使用需要它的 NAS
  3. 您嘗試使用的設備或服務需要 SMBv1

讓我們首先檢查 SMB 服務的狀態。 打開提升的命令提示符、PowerShell 或 Windows 終端,然後運行以下命令:

                      sc.exe qc lanmanworkstation
                    

您將得到與以下輸出非常相似的內容:

如果“START_TYPE”未設置為 AUTO_START,則需要啟用它。 在與上一個命令相同的窗口中運行接下來的兩個命令。

sc.exe 配置 lanmanworkstation 依賴 = bowser/mrxsmb10/mrxsmb20/nsi
sc.exe 配置 mrxsmb20 開始 = 自動

你會看見 [SC] ChangeServiceConfig SUCCESS 如果一切順利。

如果這不起作用,接下來要嘗試的是允許不安全的訪客登錄。 默認情況下,Windows 會阻止訪客使用 SMB2 登錄網絡設備。 您可能需要禁用該設置——從安全角度來看,這並不理想,但對於消費類設備來說這是相當普遍的事情。

啟動註冊表編輯器(RegEdit),然後導航到 HKLMSYSTEMCurrentControlSetServicesLanmanWorkstationParameters 使用左側的菜單,或者只是將路徑粘貼到地址欄中。

RegEdit is opened to the folder where

您要查找的 DWORD 名為 AllowInsecureGuestAuth — 如果不存在,則需要創建它。

右鍵單擊空白處,將鼠標移至“新建”,然後單擊“DWORD(32 位)值”。 將其命名為“AllowInsecureGuestAuth”並將值設置為 1。

在將值設置為 1 之後,嘗試執行最初給您錯誤 0x80004005 的任何操作。還有另一種可能與 SMB 相關的可能性。

您嘗試連接的網絡設備可能要求您使用標準的最舊版本 SMBv1。 它在 Windows 10 和 Windows 11 中默認禁用,但仍然可以啟用它。

點擊開始按鈕,在搜索框中輸入“windows features”,然後點擊 Enter 或點擊“Open”。 Windows 功能窗口尚未遷移到設置應用程序,因此如果您想導航到它,請前往:控制面板 > 程序 > 打開或關閉 Windows 功能。

向下滾動,直到看到“SMB 1.0/CIFS 文件共享支持”。 單擊小加號按鈕,然後勾選“SMB 1.0/CIFS 客戶端”、“SMB 1.0/CIFS 服務器”並取消勾選“SMB 1.0/CIFS 自動刪除”。 然後點擊“確定”。

Tick both the SMB 1.0 Client and Server boxes, and untick the automatic removal option.

Windows 將自動下載文件並提示您重新啟動計算機。 檢查並查看是否有效 - 如果沒有,請不要擔心。 你可以嘗試更多的東西。 請記住在繼續之前再次禁用 SMB 1.0/CIFS。 除非您需要,否則將其打開是沒有意義的,這是一個潛在的安全漏洞

網絡發現和共享設置

聯網設備——比如網絡附加存儲 (NAS),或者更糟糕的是,網絡打印機——通常非常挑剔。 網絡發現或共享設置經常出錯。 這是您需要做的,以排除這些設置是問題的根源。

打開網絡設置。 單擊“開始”按鈕,在搜索欄中鍵入“高級共享選項”,然後單擊“打開”或按 Enter。 您也可以從控制面板導航到那裡,轉至:控制面板 > 網絡和 Internet > 網絡和共享中心 > 高級共享設置。

您可以根據所連接的網絡類型自定義共享設置——通常,您的家庭網絡應設置為私有網絡。 如果不是,Windows 10 和 Windows 11 讓您只需單擊幾下即可將您的網絡從公共更改為私有。

如何在 Windows 10 或 11 上將網絡從公共更改為私有

通過單擊右側的“私人”一詞或小 V 形(看起來像向上箭頭)打開標有“私人”的部分。 勾選“打開網絡發現”、“打開網絡設備的自動設置”和“打開文件和打印機共享”旁邊的氣泡或氣泡。

Expand the section named

之後,向下移動到標題為“所有網絡”的部分。

警告:如果您在啟用這些設置時連接到公共網絡,其中一些設置可能會出現安全或隱私漏洞。 如果您使用兩個永遠不會離開家的台式機,那不是問題。 如果您使用的是筆記本電腦或其他便攜式設備,您最好在連接到公共 Wi-Fi 網絡之前禁用它們。

您需要單擊三個設置:“打開共享,以便任何具有網絡訪問權限的人都可以讀取和寫入公共文件夾中的文件”、“為使用 40 位或 56 位加密的設備啟用文件共享”和“關閉密碼”受保護的共享。”

筆記:如果它們都是 Windows 設備,您應該在兩台計算機上嘗試此操作,但這些設置在服務器上比嘗試連接的客戶端更重要。

Configure the sharing options.

單擊“保存更改”,然後重新啟動計算機。 如果它不起作用,你有一個不同的問題——它可能與允許 LAN 設備之間連接的底層服務有關。

基本服務

SMB 只是使您的計算機能夠與本地網絡上的其他設備通信的眾多軟件組件之一。 Windows 有一些網絡共享工作所需的服務:

  • DNS客戶端
  • DHCP客戶端
  • 功能發現提供程序主機 (fdPHost)
  • 功能發現資源發布 (fdResPub)
  • 簡單服務發現協議 (SSDP)
  • UPnP 設備主機

DNS 客戶端和 DHCP 客戶端都應該自動啟動,並且它們可能工作正常。 它們是您的計算機訪問互聯網所必需的; 如果它們無法啟動,您絕對會注意到,因為您的瀏覽器(和大多數其他應用程序)將無法工作。

其他設備共同為您的 PC 提供查看網絡上其他設備並與之交互的能力。 通過打開服務應用程序檢查他們的狀態。 有兩種快速方法可以做到這一點。 您可以在開始菜單搜索欄中鍵入“服務”,然後單擊“打開”或按 Enter。 或者,您可以按 Windows+R 並在運行框中鍵入“services.msc”,然後按 Enter。

服務列表默認按字母順序排序,但如果不是,只需單擊頂部的“名稱”列。 向下滾動列表並檢查我們列出的所有服務是否設置為“手動”或“自動”。

The services should be set to manual or automatic, and they should be running.

筆記:如果網絡發現已打開,共享已啟用,並且您一直在嘗試連接到 LAN 上的設備,則服務應該正在運行,即使它們被設置為手動。 如果他們不是,那麼有些東西不見了。 如果您的服務沒有運行並且它們可能應該運行,請隨時將它們從“手動”啟動更改為“自動”。

如果其中任何一個設置為“已禁用”,請右鍵單擊該服務,然後單擊“屬性”。

單擊下拉菜單,選擇“自動”或“自動(延遲啟動)”,然後單擊“應用”和“確定”。 該服務將在您啟動 Windows 時自動啟動。

小費:如果您有一台較舊的計算機或低功耗計算機,您可能希望將其設置為延遲啟動,這樣您就不會在計算機嘗試啟動時陷入 Windows。

仔細檢查所有列出的服務,重新啟動計算機,然後重試。

網絡BIOS

NetBIOS 是與通過局域網連接設備相關的另一個關鍵軟件。 如果它沒有運行,則已知會導致錯誤 0x80004005。 讓我們仔細檢查您的設置以確保這不是問題所在。

點擊開始按鈕,在搜索欄中輸入“網絡連接”,然後點擊 Enter 或點擊“打開”。

右鍵單擊用於連接 LAN 的網絡適配器,然後單擊“屬性”。 由於硬件配置不同,計算機之間的適配器會有所不同,但有線連接的名稱通常會帶有以太網,而 Wi-Fi 適配器的名稱會帶有 Wi-Fi。

向下滾動,直到看到“Internet 協議版本 4 (TCP/IPv4)”,選擇它,然後單擊“屬性”。

點擊“高級”。

單擊“WINS”選項卡,然後查看窗口底部。 “默認”設置應該可以工作。 如果 NetBIOS 設置為“已禁用”,請繼續啟用默認設置。 但是,如果選擇“默認”並且您仍然收到錯誤,請嘗試將設置更改為“啟用”。 單擊“啟用 TCP/IP 上的 NetBIOS”旁邊的空格,然後單擊“確定”。

通過點擊“確定”關閉您之前打開的所有其餘窗口,然後查看錯誤是否仍然存在。

禁用 IPv6

Internet 協議版本 6 或 IPv6 是未來,並且正在慢慢成為規範。 然而,採用新標準並不是一個快速或簡化的過程。 確保對 IPv4 設備的傳統支持偶爾會導致打嗝。

什麼是 IPv6,它為什麼重要?

這種打嗝可能是導致“錯誤:0x80004005”的原因。 當然,解決方案很簡單:關閉它。 在大多數情況下沒有必要。

筆記:Windows 10 上的 Windows 看起來有些不同,但過程基本相同。

打開設置應用程序,然後導航到網絡和 Internet >(您的網絡名稱)>硬件屬性,然後單擊 DNS 設置區域中的“編輯”。

筆記:如果您同時使用 Wi-Fi 和以太網連接到您的局域網,請確保對兩者都禁用 IPv6。

向下滾動到 IPv6,然後單擊開關到關閉位置。

再一次,重新啟動您的電腦,看看您是否仍然收到錯誤。

防病毒或防火牆阻止訪問

這不太可能,但過度保護的防病毒軟件可能是罪魁禍首。 最好的現代防病毒程序可抵禦各種攻擊,包括可能來自局域網 (LAN) 的攻擊。 檢查這是否是問題的最簡單方法是暫時禁用防病毒和防火牆。

2022 年最佳殺毒軟件

由於那裡有許多不同的防病毒程序,因此無法提供有關如何執行此操作的具體說明。 但是,生產該軟件的公司將在其網站上提供說明,因此您應該從那裡開始。

如果您使用的是 Microsoft Defender,禁用防火牆和防病毒軟件非常簡單。

如何卸載、禁用和刪除 Windows Defender

修復本地文件錯誤

錯誤代碼 0x80004005 不僅限於聯網設備 - 當您嘗試在本地訪問或操作文件或文件夾時,它有時會出現在您的 Windows PC 上。 幸運的是,在那種情況下的原因列表。

權限或所有權問題

如果您在處理本地文件時遇到 0x80004005 錯誤,則可能是權限或所有權問題。

首先,檢查您的用戶帳戶是否擁有給您帶來麻煩的文件或文件夾的所有權。 如果沒有,您應該嘗試的第一件事是獲取文件或文件夾的所有權。

如何在 Windows 中獲取文件和文件夾的所有權

一旦您獲得了文件的所有權,接下來您應該嘗試手動調整您的權限。 右鍵單擊文件或文件夾,然後單擊“屬性”。

轉到“安全”選項卡,選擇用戶組,然後查看下面列出的權限。 應勾選“完全控制”。 如果不是,請單擊“編輯”。

Example Folder with

勾選列表上的“完全控制”,所有其他選項也應自動啟用。 然後單擊“應用”和“確定”。

如果 PC 上只有一個用戶帳戶,您的用戶帳戶可能同時屬於用戶組和管理員組。 在“屬性”窗口中檢查兩者的權限——管理員組中的任何用戶帳戶都應該具有“完全控制權”,但確保它永遠不會有壞處。

確認您擁有所有權和完全控制權後,請檢查您是否仍然遇到錯誤。

殺毒軟件

大多數防病毒程序都可以設置為保護某些文件和文件夾免受惡意軟件的侵害。 很少,這種保護有點過火,可能會干擾您 PC 上的正常活動。

檢查這是否是問題原因的最快方法是禁用防病毒軟件。 防病毒網站上將有關於如何執行此操作的說明。

Microsoft Defender 防病毒軟件不太可能是問題,但排除這種可能性永遠不會有壞處。

如何卸載、禁用和刪除 Windows Defender

硬盤驅動器、SSD 或 Windows 的問題

沒有一種簡單的方法可以完全確定硬件故障或 Windows 損壞是否是導致錯誤的原因。 在這種情況下,最方便的診斷工具就是假設存在問題並嘗試修復它。 你肯定不會讓事情變得更糟。

您應該運行三個主要命令來排除可能導致它的大多數問題:Chkdsk、DISM 和 SFC。

您需要以管理員身份啟動命令提示符或 PowerShell 才能運行命令。 不要計劃匆忙完成掃描——它們可能需要一段時間。

完成後,重新啟動您的 PC,並檢查您是否仍然收到錯誤 0x80004005。

更多故障排除步驟

不幸的是,錯誤代碼也可能出現在與特定程序相關的更模糊的情況下。 由於程序種類繁多,很難具體說明在這些情況下如何解決問題。 在進行故障排除時,請牢記導致錯誤 0x80004005 的更廣泛原因:無法正確訪問文件或文件夾。

這意味著您的故障排除步驟應首先確保您的應用程序可以正確訪問必要的文件和文件夾,所有必要的服務都正常運行,並且沒有任何必要的文件被損壞。 實際上,這只剩下三個主要步驟:禁用防病毒軟件,以管理員身份運行程序,以及完全擦除並重新安裝程序。

相關文章

How to Fix Error Code 0x80004005 on Windows 10 and 11

Windows loves to throw cryptic error codes with a million possible causes, and at least as many solutions. Error Code 0x80004005 is no exception, though it does have a few common causes. Here are some things you can try to fix it on either Windows 10 or Windows 11.

Table of Contents

What Causes Error Code 0x80004005?
Avoid Archive File Errors
Troubleshoot Windows Update
Repair Network-Related Causes
     Check Server Message Block (SMB) Settings
     Network Discovery and Sharing Settings
     Essential Services
     NetBIOS
     Disable IPv6
     Antivirus or Firewall Blocking Access
Fix Local File Errors
     Permission or Ownership Issues
     Antivirus
     Problems with Your Hard Drive, SSD, or Windows
More Troubleshooting Steps

What Causes Error Code 0x80004005?

Most generally speaking, error code 0x80004005 occurs when Windows cannot access a file or folder. It is usually displayed as “Error 0x80004005: Unspecified Error.”

Here is a non-exhaustive list of the potential causes:

  • Your Windows User account does not have ownership of the file or folder or the correct permissions to access it.
  • You’re attempting to extract or open an encrypted archive file (like a ZIP file) with a program that does not support those files.
  • Your antivirus is blocking access to the files
  • A network configuration setting is wrong, or a service is not running, and you cannot connect to another computer or Network-Attached Storage Device (NAS) on the network
  • Windows Update is broken due to corrupted files

Despite being more specific than most Windows error messages, Error Code 0x80004005 still has a large number of potential causes and a large number of potential fixes.

Avoid Archive File Errors

Archive Files allow you to do all sorts of neat things, although not all archive files support the same features. You can compress files, bundle up multiple files, encrypt files, or split large files across multiple archive files.

File Explorer can open, create, and extract ZIP files by itself, but that is about it. It cannot handle most other archive file formats, like RARs, 7Zs, or Tarballs. Additionally, most archive files support features like encryption, which locks file access behind a password. File Explorer doesn’t support any of the advanced features offered by archive file formats. You’ll get “Error 0x80004005: Unspecified Error” if you attempt to extract an encrypted ZIP file using File Explorer.

The solution is simple: Use a different program that supports encrypted files.

The Best File Archiving Program for Windows

There are a ton of programs available for managing archive files. Some of them — like 7-Zip and PeaZip — are completely free. Both are excellent options, and you can’t really go wrong with either.

WinZip and WinRAR are the other two standout options, but neither are technically free. WinZip offers a free 30-day trial, after which you need to buy it if you want to keep using it. WinRAR also offers a trial period, but it will continue to let you use it indefinitely after the trial period ends, albeit with some nagging.

Troubleshoot Windows Update

Error 0x80004005 can also appear while you’re attempting to run a Windows Update. Typically it’ll occur after a Windows update is interrupted by something like a loss of power or an internet outage.

The first thing to try is Windows Update’s built-in troubleshooter. The troubleshooter might be able to resolve whatever is causing the error automatically.

If it fails, you can try manually deleting all of the update files and restarting the update service — if the error is occurring because of a corrupted download, that should solve the problem.

Repair Network-Related Causes

Error Code 0x80004005 crops up most frequently when people are trying to connect to Network-Attached Storage (NAS), though it does happen in other circumstances. The error is not specific enough to conclusively say what the problem is, but there are a few likely culprits. If you’re running two Windows PCs that you’re trying to connect via your LAN, you should check all of these settings on both computers.

What Is A Local Area Network (LAN)?

Check Server Message Block (SMB) Settings

SMB is a protocol that lets computers on the same network communicate and function like a client and server. It is most frequently used to enable communication between a computer and a printer, or a computer and a NAS, but it can be used for other things.

There are a few versions of SMB currently in use. SMB version one, or SMBv1, is the oldest standard and isn’t used much anymore for security reasons. SMBv2 and SMBv3 are both in common use still.

If the error is related to an SMB problem, there are a few possibilities:

  1. The SMB service is not running
  2. AllowInsecureGuestAuth is disabled and you’re using a NAS that requires it
  3. The device or service you’re attempting to use requires SMBv1

Let’s start by checking the status of the SMB service. Open up an elevated Command Prompt, PowerShell, or Windows Terminal, and then run the following command:

                      sc.exe qc lanmanworkstation
                    

You’ll get something very similar to the below output:

If “START_TYPE” is not set to AUTO_START, you need to enable it. Run the next two command in the same window as you did the last command.

sc.exe config lanmanworkstation depend= bowser/mrxsmb10/mrxsmb20/nsi
sc.exe config mrxsmb20 start= auto

You will see [SC] ChangeServiceConfig SUCCESS if everything went well.

If that didn’t work, the next thing to try is allowing insecure guest logins. Windows blocks guest logins to network devices using SMB2 by default. You might need to disable that setting — it isn’t ideal from a security standpoint, but it is a fairly common thing with consumer equipment.

Fire up Registry Editor (RegEdit) and then navigate to HKLMSYSTEMCurrentControlSetServicesLanmanWorkstationParameters using the menu on the left, or just paste the path into the address bar.

RegEdit is opened to the folder where

The DWORD you’re looking for is named AllowInsecureGuestAuth — if it isn’t there, you’ll need to create it.

Right-click empty space, mouse to “New,” then click “DWORD (32-bit) Value.” Name it “AllowInsecureGuestAuth” and set the value to 1.

Try doing whatever gave you Error 0x80004005 originally after you set the value to 1. There is one other likely possibility related to SMB.

It is possible that the network device you’re trying to connect to requires that you use SMBv1, the oldest version of the standard. It is disabled by default in Windows 10 and Windows 11, but it is still possible to enable it.

Hit the Start button, type “windows features” into the search box, then hit Enter or click “Open.” The Windows Features window hasn’t migrated to the Settings app yet, so if you want to navigate to it, head to: Control Panel > Programs > Turn Windows Features On or Off.

Scroll down until you see “SMB 1.0/CIFS File Sharing Support.” Click the little plus button, then tick “SMB 1.0/CIFS Client,” “SMB 1.0/CIFS Server,” and untick “SMB 1.0/CIFS Automatic Removal.” Then click “OK.”

Tick both the SMB 1.0 Client and Server boxes, and untick the automatic removal option.

Windows will automatically download the files and prompt you to restart your computer. Check and see if that worked — if it didn’t, don’t worry. There are more things you can try. Just remember to disable SMB 1.0/CIFS again before you continue. There is no point in leaving it on unless you need it, and it is a potential security vulnerability

Network Discovery and Sharing Settings

Networked devices — like network-attached storage (NAS) or, worse yet, a network printer — are often pretty finicky. Network discovery or sharing settings are often at fault. Here is what you need to do rule out these settings as the source of your problem.

Open up Network Settings. Click the Start button, type “advanced sharing options” into the search bar, then click “Open” or hit Enter. You can also navigate there from the Control Panel, go to: Control Panel > Network and Internet > Network and Sharing Center > Advanced sharing settings.

You can customize sharing settings based on the type of network you’re connected to — generally, your home network should be set to private. If it isn’t, Windows 10 and Windows 11 let you change your network from public to private with only a few clicks.

How to Change a Network From Public to Private on Windows 10 or 11

Open the section labeled “Private” by clicking on the word “Private” or the small chevron (it looks like an up arrow) on the right-hand side. Tick the bubbles or bubbles next to “Turn On Network Discovery,” “Turn on Automatic Setup of Network Devices,” and “Turn on File and Printer Sharing.”

Expand the section named

After that, move down to the section titled “All Networks.”

Warning: Some of these settings could present a security or privacy vulnerability if you connect to a public network while they’re enabled. If you’re on two desktops that won’t ever move from your home, that isn’t a problem. If you’re using a laptop or other portable device, it would behoove you to disable them before connecting to public Wi-Fi networks.

There are three settings you need to click: “Turn on Sharing so Anyone with Network Access Can Read and Write Files in the Public Folders,” “Enable File Sharing for Devices That Use 40 or 56-bit Encryption,” and “Turn Off Password Protected Sharing.”

Note: You should try this on both computers if they’re both Windows devices, but these settings are more likely to be important on the server than the client trying to connect.

Configure the sharing options.

Click “Save Changes,” and then restart your computer. If it doesn’t work, you have a different issue — it could be related to the underlying services that allow for connections between LAN devices.

Essential Services

SMB is just one of many software components that enable your computer to talk to other devices on the local network. Windows has a handful of services that are required for network sharing to work:

  • DNS Client
  • DHCP Client
  • Function Discovery Provider Host (fdPHost)
  • Function Discovery Resource Publication (fdResPub)
  • Simple Service Discovery Protocol (SSDP)
  • UPnP Device Host

DNS Client and DHCP Client should both start automatically, and they’re probably working fine. They’re necessary for your computer to access the internet; if they failed to start, you would absolutely have noticed, since your browser (and most other applications) wouldn’t work.

The others collectively provide the ability for your PC to see and interact with other devices on the network. Check on their status by opening up the Services app. There are two quick ways to do that. You can type “services” into the Start menu search bar, and then click “Open” or hit Enter. Alternatively, you can hit Windows+R and type “services.msc” into the run box and then hit Enter.

The list of services is sorted alphabetically by default, but if yours isn’t, just click the “Name” column at the top. Scroll down through the list and check that all of the services we listed are set to “Manual” or “Automatic.”

The services should be set to manual or automatic, and they should be running.

Note: If Network discovery is on, sharing is enabled, and you’ve been trying to connect to a device on your LAN, the services should be running, even if they’re set to manual. If they’re not, something has gone amiss. If your services are not running and they probably should be, feel free to change them from “Manual” startup to “Automatic.”

If any of them are set to “Disabled,” right-click the service and then click “Properties.”

Click the drop down menu, select “Automatic” or “Automatic (Delayed Start),” and then click “Apply” and “OK.” The service will start up automatically when you boot Windows.

Tip: If you have an older computer, or a low-power machine, you might want to put it on a delayed start so you don’t bog down Windows while your computer tries to boot up.

Double-check all of the listed services, restart your computer, and try again.

NetBIOS

NetBIOS is another key piece of software related to connecting devices over a Local Area Network. If it isn’t operating, it has been known to cause Error 0x80004005. Let’s double check your settings to make sure this isn’t the problem.

Hit the Start button, type “Network Connections” into the search bar, then hit Enter or click “Open.”

Right-click on the network adapter you use to connect to the LAN, then click “Properties.” The adapters will vary between computers due to different hardware configurations, but a wired connection will generally have Ethernet in the name, while Wi-Fi adapters will have Wi-Fi in the name.

Scroll down until you see “Internet Protocol Version 4 (TCP/IPv4),” select it, then click “Properties.”

Click “Advanced.”

Click the “WINS” tab, then look towards the bottom of the Window. The “Default” setting should work. If NetBIOS is set to “Disabled,” go ahead and enable the default setting. However, if “Default” is selected and you’re still getting an error, try changing the setting to “Enabled” instead. Click the space next to “Enable NetBIOS Over TCP/IP,” then click “OK.”

Close out all of the rest of the windows you’d previously opened up by hitting “Ok,” then see if the error still occurs.

Disable IPv6

Internet Protocol version 6, or IPv6, is the future and is slowly becoming the norm. Adopting the new standard hasn’t been a quick or streamlined process, however. Ensuring legacy support for IPv4 devices occasionally results in hiccups.

What Is IPv6, and Why Does It Matter?

It is possible that such a hiccup is responsible for an “Error: 0x80004005.” The solution, of course, is simple: Turn it off. It isn’t necessary in most cases.

Note: The windows looks a bit different on Windows 10, but the process is essentially the same.

Open up the Settings application, then navigate to Network & Internet > (Your Network Name) > Hardware Properties, and then click “Edit” in the DNS settings area.

Note: If you connect to your local area network using both Wi-Fi and Ethernet, make sure to disable IPv6 for both.

Scroll down to IPv6 and click the switch to the off position.

Once again, restart your PC and see if you still get the error.

Antivirus or Firewall Blocking Access

It isn’t likely, but it is possible that overly-protective antivirus software is to blame. The best modern antivirus programs offer protection against a wide range of attacks, including those that might come from your local area network (LAN). The easiest way to check if this is the problem is to temporarily disable your antivirus and firewall.

The Best Antivirus Software of 2022

It isn’t possible to give specific instructions on how to do this since there are so many different antivirus programs out there. The company that produces the software will have instructions on their website, though, so you should start there.

If you’re using Microsoft Defender, disabling the firewall and antivirus is pretty straightforward.

How To Uninstall, Disable, and Remove Windows Defender

Fix Local File Errors

Error Code 0x80004005 isn’t constrained to networked devices only — sometimes it crops up on your Windows PC when you’re trying to access or manipulate a file or folder locally. Fortunately, the list of causes in that scenario.

Permission or Ownership Issues

A problem with permissions or ownership is probably the problem if you’re experiencing the 0x80004005 error when dealing with local files.

First, check and see if your user account has ownership of the file or folder that is giving you trouble. If it doesn’t, the first thing you should try is taking ownership of the file or folder.

How to Take Ownership of Files and Folders in Windows

Once you’ve taken ownership of the file, the next thing you should try is manually adjusting your permissions. Right-click the file or folder and click “Properties.”

Head over to the “Security” tab, select the Users group, and check out the permissions listed below. “Full Control” should be ticked. If it isn’t, click “Edit.”

Example Folder with

Tick “Full Control” on the list and all of the other options should automatically be enabled as well. Then click “Apply,” and “OK.”

Your user account is probably part of both the Users group and the Administrators group if there is only one user account on the PC. Check the permissions for both in the Properties window — any user account in the Administrators group should have “Full Control,” but it never hurts to be sure.

Once you’ve confirmed that you have ownership and full control, check and see if you’re still getting the error.

Antivirus

Most antivirus programs can be set up to protect certain files and folders from malware. Rarely, this protection goes a bit overboard, and can interfere with normal activities on your PC.

The quickest way to check if this is the cause of the problem is to disable your antivirus. There will be instructions on the antivirus’s website for exactly how to do that.

Microsoft Defender Antivirus is pretty unlikely to be the problem, but it never hurts to rule out the possibility.

How To Uninstall, Disable, and Remove Windows Defender

Problems with Your Hard Drive, SSD, or Windows

There isn’t an easy way to be completely sure if a hardware fault, or a corruption of Windows, is responsible for the error. The most convenient diagnostic tool in this case is just to assume there is a problem and try to fix it. You certainly won’t make anything worse.

There are three main commands you should run to rule out most of the problems that could cause it: Chkdsk, DISM, and SFC.

You’ll need to launch either Command Prompt or PowerShell as administrator to run the commands. Don’t plan to rush through the scans — they can take a while.

Once they’re done, restart your PC, and check to see if you’re still getting Error 0x80004005.

More Troubleshooting Steps

Unfortunately, the error code can also crop up in more obscure cases related to specific programs. Because the programs are so varied, it is difficult to say specifically how to solve the problem in those instances. While you’re troubleshooting, keep the broader strokes of what causes Error 0x80004005 in mind: a file or folder cannot be accessed correctly.

That means your troubleshooting steps should start with ensuring that your application can correctly access the requisite files and folders, that all of the requisite services are functioning correctly, and that none of the essential files are corrupted. In practical terms, that leaves you three main steps: disable your antivirus, run the program as administrator, and completely wipe and reinstall the program.

Related Posts