How to Hide Your Private Photos and Videos in Google Photos

Google Photos is hands down the best way to manage your large and growing photo library. The various tools it offers make it a breeze to sort your photos and videos and group them by events and people.

For privacy reasons and to protect your personal photos from prying eyes, you can lock all your private photos in a special folder. This locked folder cannot be accessed until you enter the unlock PIN for it.

The locked Google Photos folder

Any photos and videos that you move to a locked folder won’t appear in search results, albums, your photo library, or reminders. They will also be removed from any existing albums and will not appear on your smart displays either.

However, there are some caveats about how Locked Folder works in Google Photos.

  • First, the feature is currently only on the Google Pixel 3 and newer Pixel devices. Google hasn’t expanded the locked folder feature to non-Pixel devices until now.

  • The Blocked Folder feature is only available on your phone, not on the Internet. The feature will also not appear on Pixel devices managed by Corporations and select other account types.

  • Your locked folder is also not synced across devices, so you cannot access it from other devices.

  • While Google Photos itself Cloud-based, the locked folder feature works locally. Any photos or videos that you transfer to a locked folder in Google Photos will be downloaded to your Pixel phone and password protected with the lock screen. the Cloud- The backup copy of this photo or video will then be deleted from your Google Photos Library.

  • Contents in the locked folder will also be deleted if you ever delete the Google Photos app data. If you ever erase your Pixel phone, it will also erase all of the photos and videos stored in the locked folder.

  • You also can’t share photos that are stored in a locked folder.

  • The locked folder uses the same screen lock as your phone. You can’t set a different unlock pattern or PIN for the locked folder in Google Photos.

  • For security reasons, you cannot take screenshots of the locked folder, so you can be sure that the contents in it will always be protected.

If you use Google Photos to store a lot of photos and videos, please follow this guide to free up space on Google Photos.

How to set up a locked folder in Google Photos

Before you can move your photos and videos to the locked folder, you need to set it up first.

  1. Open the Google Photos app on your phone.

  2. Choose library Tab at the bottom. Then choose Utilities> Locked Folder.

  3. Tap the Set up locked folder Opportunity. Then you need to unlock your device with the unlock pattern / PIN / password.

How to move photos and videos to a locked folder in Google Photos

  1. Open the Google Photos app and select all the photos and videos that you want to move to your locked folder.

  2. Tap the 3-dot menu button in the top right corner, then select the Move to locked folder Opportunity.

  3. Confirm your selection by tapping Move again.

You can also take photos and videos directly, which will be saved in the locked folder. To do this, open the camera app on your Pixel smartphone. Click the Photo Gallery icon in the upper right corner followed by Locked folder.

Now any photos or videos you take will be automatically saved in the locked folder in Google Photos.

Hide photos in Google Photos locked folder

Locked Folder is a useful addition to Google Photos. However, the feature has a lot of limitations, which makes it less than ideal for hiding your important photos and videos.

The missing Cloud-Syncing for photos stored in the locked folder means you risk losing them if your Pixel phone ever stops working or if you have to do a factory reset for some reason.

Related Posts