How to upgrade from Ubuntu 20.10 to Ubuntu 21.04

Ubuntu 21.04 Hirsute Hippo is officially released! For Ubuntu 20.10 users, here’s how to upgrade your system to a new edition:

Same as previous version, Ubuntu 21.04 Is a short-term release with 9 months of support. It is equipped with Linux Kernel 5.11 and has the following functions.

  • Microsoft Active Directory integration
  • Use wayland as the default session while Xorg is still available.
  • By default, the Dark Gnome Shell theme.
  • Use the Desktop Icons NG extension to support drag and drop.
  • Use nftables as the default firewall backend.
  • Add support for smart card authentication
  • Toolchain and core application updates.

How to upgrade Ubuntu 20.10 to Ubuntu 21.04:

1.) First, make a backup of all your important data.

2.) Then disable or delete the Ubuntu PPA or third party repository. To do this, open the Software & Updates utility and[OtherSoftware]Go to the tab.

3.) Next[更新]Go to tab and[新しいUbuntuバージョンを通知する]The value of[新しいバージョンの場合]Make sure it is set to.

4.) If you are using a proprietary driver,[追加ドライバー]We recommend switching to the open source driver on the tab.

5.) Press Ctrl + Alt + T on your keyboard to open a terminal and run the command to install all system updates.

sudo apt update && sudo apt upgrade

6.) Reboot the machine, open a terminal and run the command.

update-manager -d

A Software Updater pops up indicating that Ubuntu 21.04 is available.

7.) Click the “Upgrade” button and read and confirm the Release Notes dialog.

Note: Although the release notes mention the Hirsute Hippo development branch. In my tests, I upgraded to the final version of Ubuntu 21.04.

Then start downloading the release upgrade tool.

8.) Finally, the System Upgrade Wizard is displayed.

You will be asked to confirm again before “Getting a new package”. Also, you cannot cancel the upgrade process by clicking the Start Upgrade button.

9.) Depending on network speed and system resources, the upgrade process may take several hours. However, one or two confirmation dialogs will be displayed during the process. Therefore, do not leave the machine too far. Need to monitor.

If everything completes successfully, you will be prompted to reboot the machine to complete the process.

that’s it. pleasant!

Share this:

  • More

Related Posts