為什麼 ~ 在 macOS 和 Linux 上代表主文件夾?

無論您已經在 Windows 10 上安裝了 Linux 子系統,還是開始使用 Linux 終端,您都需要學習各種快捷方式……沒有一個是直觀的。

例如有代字號 ~ 代表您的主文件夾。 輕敲 cd ~/Documents 切換到當前用戶主目錄中的 Documents 文件夾,這樣我就不用打字了 /Users/justinpot/Documents 每次。 這是一個方便的縮寫,當然,但是為什麼要使用那個特定的字符呢?

信不信由你,這是因為 1970 年代的鍵盤。 這是 1975 年首次發貨的 Lear Siegler ADM-3A 終端。

這是一個“啞終端”,這意味著它本身不是計算機,而是使您能夠向計算機輸入命令並查看計算機中的數據。 ADM-3A 只有 995 美元,這在當時是不是一個好價錢,這意味著機構可以購買多個這樣的終端來連接到中央計算機。 時至今日,Linux 和 macOS 中使用的現代“終端仿真器”都在模倣此類系統的功能。

這是一個非常有影響力的硬件; 許多早期的軟件開發都是在它上面進行的,這意味著鍵盤佈局影響了一些設計決策。 聽:

你注意到什麼了嗎? 這是一張更清晰的圖片。


看到右上角的鑰匙了嗎? 這是 HOME 鍵,其作用類似於現代鍵盤上的 Home 鍵,在編輯文本時將光標移動到左上角位置。 它也是波浪符號的關鍵: ~ . 那個協會就足夠了 ~ 最終顯示主文件夾。

正確:基於 Linux 和 UNIX 的系統使用四十多年前的特殊鍵盤 ~ 為了代表家,雖然 ~ 在大多數現代鍵盤上,home 鍵不能分開得更遠。 瘋了吧?

而這個鍵盤中還隱藏著其他的細節。 看到 H、J、K 和 L 鍵上的箭頭了嗎? 按住 Ctrl 鍵並按下這些鍵可以在終端中移動光標,這就是為什麼在 vi 中使用相同的鍵來移動光標。 這些 vi 鍵盤快捷鍵反過來又啟發了 Gmail 中的鍵盤快捷鍵。 推特甚至臉書。 沒錯:甚至 Facebook 的鍵盤快捷鍵也受到了 1975 年首次銷售的“愚蠢終端”的啟發。

繼續看,您會發現有幾個根本不認識的鍵。 有“這裡是”鍵,博主戴夫切尼在這裡解釋. 基本上,它通過網絡確認了您的身份。 您還會看到現代鍵盤上的 Escape 鍵位於 Caps Lock 鍵所在的位置,這為圍繞 MacBook 觸控欄的 Escape 鍵的爭議提供了新的線索。 我確信還有許多其他細節我遺漏了。

一種您從未聽說過的設備影響了 40 多年後人們仍在使用的軟件中使用的設計決策。 歷史不奇怪嗎?

信用:克里斯·雅各布斯,斯圖爾特布雷迪,埃里克費舍爾

相關文章

Why does ~ represent the home folder on macOS and Linux?

Whether you’ve installed the Linux subsystem on Windows 10 or are starting to use the Linux Terminal, there are all kinds of shortcuts you need to learn … none of which are intuitive.

To the example There is the tilde ~which represents your home folder. Tap cd ~/Documents switches to the Documents folder in the current user’s home directory, which saves me typing /Users/justinpot/Documents every time. It’s a convenient abbreviation, sure, but why is that particular character used for it?

Believe it or not, it’s because of a keyboard from the 1970s. Here is a Lear Siegler ADM-3A terminal that was first shipped in 1975.

This was a “dumb terminal,” which means it wasn’t a computer in itself, but rather enabled you to enter commands into a computer and view data from it. The ADM-3A was only $ 995, which was a good price or not at the time, meaning institutions could buy multiple such terminals to connect to a central computer. To this day, modern “terminal emulators” such as those used in Linux and macOS imitate the functionality of such systems.

It’s a very influential piece of hardware; A lot of early software development took place on it, which means that the keyboard layout influenced some design decisions. Listen:

Do you notice anything? Here is a clearer picture.


Do you see the key in the top right? This is the HOME key, which works similarly to the Home key on modern keyboards and moves the cursor to the top left position when editing text. It’s also the key to the tilde symbol: ~. That association was enough for ~ to finally show home folders.

Correct: Linux and UNIX-based systems use a special keyboard from over forty years ago ~ To represent home, though the ~ and home keys couldn’t be further apart on most modern keyboards. Crazy, right?

And there are other details hidden in this keyboard. Do you see the arrows on the H, J, K, and L keys? Hold down the Ctrl key and press these keys to move the cursor in the terminal, which is why the same keys are used to move the cursor in vi. These vi keyboard shortcuts, in turn, inspired the keyboard shortcuts in Gmail. Twitter and even Facebook. That’s right: even Facebook’s keyboard shortcuts were inspired by a “stupid terminal” that was first sold in 1975.

Keep looking and you will find that you see a couple of keys that you don’t recognize at all. There’s the “here it is” key, the blogger Dave Cheney explains here. Basically, it confirmed who you are over the network. You’ll also see that the Escape key on modern keyboards is in places where the Caps Lock key is, which sheds new light on the controversy surrounding the MacBook touchbar’s Escape key. I am sure there are many other details that I am missing.

A device you’ve never heard of influenced design decisions that are used in software that people still use over forty years later. Isn’t history strange?

Credit: Chris Jacobs, Stuart Brady, Eric Fischer

Related Posts